top of page


Updated: Feb 12, 2023



ID HOTELIER - Yogyakarta, February 5th 2023 - Minister of Tourism and Creative Economy/Head of

Tourism and Creative Economy Agency, Sandiaga Salahuddin Uno, officially handed over the leadership of the ASEAN Tourism Forum for 2024 to Laos. He symbolically handed the leadership to the Minister of Culture, Information, and Tourism Laos, Suanesavanh Vignaket.

In his remarks at the Closing Ceremony of the 2023 ASEAN Tourism Forum at the Marriot Hotel Yogyakarta on Sunday (5/2/2023), he expressed his gratitude for the opportunity to lead the tourism forum between the ASEAN countries and partner countries, such as ASEAN Plus Three, India, Russia, and ASEAN NTOs. According to him, Indonesia would support Laos in running its role as the chair in the upcoming ASEAN Tourism Forum.

“We hope that Laos will continue to strengthen collaboration with the ASEAN member countries and partner countries to encourage growth and create new and quality employment opportunities in the tourism sector,” Minister Sandiaga said.

The handover of this leadership marked the end of the series of the 2023 ASEAN Tourism Forum in Yogyakarta. Indonesia’s leadership resulted in several agreements to make ASEAN the epicenter of

global economic growth through the tourism sector.

Among others, by increasing the capacity of ASEAN tourism professionals through the Mutual Recognition Arrangement for Tourism Professionals (MRA-TP) and increasing the development of responsible, sustainable, and inclusive tourism.

On the same occasion, the Minister of Culture, Information, and Tourism Laos, Suanesavanh Vignaket, was honored to receive the leadership of the ASEAN Tourism Forum after Indonesia because Laos could play a big role in continuing the tourism sector development agenda in the ASEAN region.

“We will continue to cooperate with the ASEAN member countries and international organization partners because it is crucial to harmonize our steps in the future,” Suanesavanh said.

ASEAN Tourism Awarding Ceremony 2023

Indonesia managed to win 20 awards consisting of four categories in the 2023 ASEAN Tourism Forum, which is one of the series of the 2023 ATF activities. Minister Sandiaga gave these awards to the winners in person shortly before the 2023 ATF closing ceremony.

ASEAN Tourism Award is an initiative of the ASEAN member countries to appreciate the efforts of the tourism actors to present leading and quality destinations so that ASEAN is able to become a single destination.

The following is a complete list of ASEAN Tourism Award winners for each category:

The 2nd ASEAN Public Toilet Award 2023-2024:

  • Soekarno Hatta International Airport;

  • Bali Safari and Marine Park;

  • Sasak Ende (Sade) Indigenous Tourism Village:

  • Kuta Beach; and

  • The Berawa.

The 2nd ASEAN Spa Service Award 2023 - 2025:

  • Gaya Spa Wellness Wolter Monginsidi;

  • Ayana Resort Bali;

  • Revivo Wellness Resort Bali;

  • Acqua Spa;

  • Apurva Spa Kempinski Bali.

The 3rd ASEAN Community Tourism Award 2023 - 2025:

  • Pentingsari Tourism Village;

  • Pemuteran Tourism Village;

  • Wae Rebo Tourism Village;

  • Tamansari Tourism Village;

  • Silokek Tourism Village.

The 4th ASEAN Homestay Award 2023 - 2025:

  • Ngilngof Tourism Village;

  • Dieng Kulon Tourism Village;

  • Nusa Tourism Village;

  • Malangga Tourism Village;

  • Undisan Tourism Village.

Attending the occasion were the Assistant Director, Sectoral Development Directorate ASEC, Pham Quang Minh; Vice Minister of Culture, Sport, and Tourism Vietnam, Doan Van Viet; Permanent Secretary of Tourism and Sports Thailand, Arrun Boonchai; Chief Executive, International Group Singapura, Juliana Kua; Secretary Department of Tourism Filipina, Christina Garcia Fasco. Also present were the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Primary Resources and Tourism Brunei Darussalam, Tutiaty Abdul Wahab; Secretary of State Kamboja, Thok Sokhom; Minister of Tourism, Arts, and Culture Malaysia, Dato Sri Tiong King Sing; Ambassador India for ASEAN, Jayant Namdeorao Khobragade, and Vice Commissioner of Japan Tourism Agency, Mitsuaki Hoshino.


I Gusti Ayu Dewi Hendriyani

Head of Communication Bureau

Ministry of Tourism and Creative Economy/Tourism and Creative Economy Agency

1 Comment

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Feb 12, 2023
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

Great success for ATF 2023 Yogyakarta. Bravo Indonesia 🇮🇩

bottom of page